Monthly Archives: November 2019

Welcome to the A Piece of Blog Hop with Island Batik. Here are the links you need to get you to 22 fabulous projects being shared this month with the latest Island Batik fabric collections. Bookmark this page so you can come back daily and view the new quilts that have been shared.

 

Friday, November 1:
Blog Hop Kick Off and Giveaway

Monday, November 4:
Janet Yamamoto
Emily Leachman


Tuesday, November 5:
Dione Gardner-Stephen
Laura Piland


Wednesday, November 6:
Anja Clyke
Lori Haase


Thursday, November 7:
Suzy Webster
Alison Vermilya

Friday, November 8
Blog Round-Up Week 1


Monday, November 11:
Jennifer Fulton
Barbara Gaddy


Tuesday, November 12:
Sarah Goer
Stephanie Jacobson


Wednesday, November 13:
Anita Skjellanger
Kim Lapacek


Thursday, November 14:
Becca Fenstermaker
Carolina Asmussen

Friday, November 15
Blog Hop Round Up Week 2


Monday, November 18:
Denise Looney
Geraldine Wilkins


Tuesday, November 19:
Jackie O’Brien
Sally Manke


Wednesday, November 20:
Jennifer Thomas
Leah Malasky

Friday, November 22:
Blog Hop roundup Week 3

2 Comments

This weekend was full of blue!

On my way home from seeing Blue Man Group (and enjoying a tasty blue cocktail) I realized that I needed to start and finish this mini quilt to share with you today for the Fat Quarter Shop Sew Solid Remix. Thankfully I already had a plan and had pulled the fabric above to choose from.

 

A Brilliant Cut is a mini quilt pattern available from Fat Quarter Shop as part of their Sew Solids series. I opted for a sapphire on a silver band since my engagement ring has a sapphire. The free pattern from Fat Quarter Shop was easy to follow and this is a quick little project to sew up.  It took me less than two hours to cut and piece the quilt top. The facets on the bottom half of the gem are easily achieved with the Creative Grids Perfect Rectangle Ruler.

 

In the interest of a fast finish I chose walking foot quilting in a 2" crosshatch pattern. I marked the diagonal lines in one direction with masking tape and stitched with the edge of my presser foot along the edge of each piece of tape. Then I repeated in the other direction. You can see the first line of stitching in the photo below. I used Aurifil 50wt Silver Fox Variegated (#4670) for the quilting.

 

I take any chance I have to bind something in stripes. This dark blue, white, and grey stripe was the perfect choice for this project. I used Aurifil 50wt Medium Delft Blue (#2783) to hand stitch my binding on the back.

 

Visit The Jolly Jabber to see what others have created for this Sew Solid Remix.