Tag Archives: Island Batik Ambassador

8 Comments

The products featured in this post were given to me by Island Batik and AccuQuilt.

September is over, but my project isn't quite finished. So more to come on this riot of color! Here's a glimpse at one of my finished blocks.

I chose a 10" stack of Island Batik Kaleidoscope for my blocks and used the AccuQuilt GO! 14" Bear's Paw die to cut all my pieces.

You can check out the other Ambassadors' finished projects while you're waiting to see mine. ;-)

10 Comments

The products featured in this post were given to me by Island Batik, Aurifil, and Hobbs.

Star Light Star Bright was the August theme for the Island Batik Ambassador challenge for those of us who didn't participate in this month's Beat the Heat Blog Hop.

My project features the Victoria and Albert collection by Island Batik and coordinates with my Starstruck Pillow from last year.

When I choose a thread color for quilting, I like to audition each three by unwinding a portion of the thread and laying each single strand of thread across various areas of the the quilt to see how the color plays on light and dark fabrics. For this quilt I considered Aurifil 50wt Light Sand (#2000), Light Avocado (#2886), and Champagne (#2105), three of my recent acquisitions from Aurifil's Pastel Collection. My daughter and I ultimately chose the Light Avocado. (I match my bobbin thread to my top thread for quilting.)

These sawtooth star blocks were constructed from a 10" stack to create squares and half square triangles for 16" finished blocks. The quilt measures 48" x 48".

I used a floral FMQ motif to complement the floral prints in the fabrics. My backing fabrics included Ivy, Sterling, Glacier, and Shark, all from Island Batik's Basics.

I bound the quilt using my machine binding technique. I chose Aurifil 50wt Very Dark Grass Green (#2890) to match my Ivy binding fabric.

 

I've linked up to the Q3 Finish Along Finishes post. Check out my whole Q3 list of projects.

The latest Island Batik Ambassador blog hop has kicked off! Welcome to the Beat the Heat Blog Hop. We hope you will grab a cool drink*, kick back, and enjoy these projects, all created with the latest Island Batik fabrics. Bookmark this page so you can come back daily and view the new quilts that have been shared.

*Or something warm for those of you in the southern hemisphere. ;-)

 

Friday August 2 - Blog Hop Kick off

Monday, August 5 - Blueberry Patch

Leanne Parsons
Sherry Shish

Tuesday, August 6 - Clockworks

Bill Locke
Lisa Nielsen

Wednesday, August 7 - Electric Desert

Sandra Walker
Terri Vanden Bosch

Thursday, August 8 - Enchanted Forest

Pamela Boatright
Kathleen McCormick

Friday, August 9 - Blog Round-Up Week 1

Monday, August 12 - Garden Party

Karen Neary
Carol Moellers

Tuesday, August 13 - Geared Up

Michelle Roberts
Laticia “Tish” Stemple

Wednesday, August 14 - Graphic Gems

(Debora) Anne Wiens
Gene Black

Thursday, August 15 - Kaleidoscope

Tina D Dillard
Bea Lee

Friday, August 16 - Blog Hop Round Up Week 2

Monday, August 19 - Petal Pushers

Joanne Hart
Carla Henton

Tuesday, August 20 - Quiet Shades

Connie Kauffman
Vasudha Govindan

Wednesday, August 21 - Seedlings

Vicki Schlimmer
Mania Hatziioannidi

Thursday, August 22 - Soil & Seeds

Gail Sheppard

Friday, August 23 - Blog Hop Round-Up Week 3

Monday, August 26 - Steam Engine

Maryellen McAuliffe
Jennifer Strauser

Tuesday, August 27 - Sunny Side Up

Connie K Campbell
Joan Kawano

Friday August 30 - Blog Hop Round-Up Week 4